Welcome to the Richland Community College Traffic Safety Program for Macon and Dewitt Counties
The Richland Community College Traffic Safety Program is a court-approved course intended to improve your driving skills, decrease the possibility of future traffic law violations, and reduce the chance of you or someone else being killed or injured in a traffic accident. The Traffic Safety Program allows you to request Court Supervision to avoid having minor traffic offenses appear as a conviction on your driving record.
You are eligible to take this course if:
- You have not been convicted of any moving violations in the State of Illinois within 12 months preceding the date of the ticket.
- You have not taken the 4-Hour Defensive Driving course within 4 years preceding the issue date of the ticket.
This course must be completed within 120 days of your guilty plea. If completed after the 120 days, it may result in a conviction on your official driving record and forfeit of all fees.
If you received your ticket in Macon or Dewitt: Once you have completed the course, we will notify the court of your completion. You may print the certificate for your records.
If you did not receive your ticket in Macon or Dewitt: First, it is your responsibility to verify that the court in which the violation occurred will accept this program. If it is approved and the course is completed, it is also your responsibility to present the certificate of completion to the court.
If you have any questions, call 217-875-7211, ext. 6500 or email email@example.com.
Traffic Safety Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Traffic Safety Program?
The Traffic Safety Program, enacted by the Illinois Supreme Court and guided by the conference of Chief Judges, has been adopted by the Sixth Judicial Circuit Court. This program is intended to improve your driving skills, decrease the possibility of future traffic law violations, and reduce the chance you or someone else may be killed or injured in a traffic accident. The Traffic Safety Program allows you to request Court Supervision and to avoid having minor traffic offenses appear as a conviction on your driving record.
How does the program work?
If you choose the Traffic Safety Program option, you will receive four hours of defensive driving instruction, and you will agree to obey all traffic laws during six months of Court Supervision.
What are my options if I am charged with a minor traffic violation?
- Plead guilty and pay the fine, by mail or in person, without going to court. (A conviction will be entered on your driving record.)*
- Plead not guilty and request a trial.*
- Request the Traffic Safety Program. You do not have to appear in court, and a conviction is not entered on your driving record if you:
- Sign the “Plea of Guilty” portion of your traffic ticket,
- Pay the ticket fine and $50 nonrefundable program fee,
- Attend the National Safety Council’s Defensive Driving course offered by Richland Community College,
- Avoid further convictions during six months of Court Supervision.
- You have an online option. Instead of using this form, go to www.judici.com to enter a plea, make your payment and (if desired) apply for supervision. Payment by credit/debit card.
*For options 1 and 2, follow the directions on your traffic ticket.
What is the benefit of choosing the Traffic Safety Program?
If you successfully complete the Traffic Safety Program, the plea of guilty will be reported to the Secretary of State as “Court Supervision” and does not negatively impact your driving record.
Am I eligible for the Traffic Safety Program?
- In the 12 months preceding the date of this ticket, have you been convicted of any moving violation anywhere in Illinois?
- In the four years preceding the issue date of this ticket, have you taken a 4-hour Defensive Driving class or been on Court Supervision anywhere in Illinois?
- Was your ticket marked with Court Appearance Required?
- Were you charged with driving twenty-one (21) miles or more over the posted speed limit?
If you answered YES to any of these questions above, you are NOT eligible to complete the Traffic Safety Program.
- Were you under the age of 18 at the time of the violation? (If YES, you must appear in court with a parent or guardian and request supervision. If allowed, you must complete the Traffic Safety Program within 120 days of the plea of guilty.)
Can I take the Traffic Safety Course Online?
You have the option to take the 4-Hour Defensive Driving Traffic Safety course online if:
- You are 25 years of age or older.
- You meet the eligibility for the program listed above.
- Pay an additional $25.00 fee to purchase an access code.
The online course offers an interactive learning environment where you will analyze real driving situations, spot driving hazards, and identify the correct defenses. In order to take the class online, you may simply mark the “online” option on the registration form as your preference and you will be mailed further information about the Online Program. This class is available in English and Spanish and will take about 4 hours to complete. The class can be taken in increments at your convenience. Once you have successfully completed the course, you may print the certificate for your records. If you received your ticket in Macon or Dewitt counties, we will notify the court that you completed the course online. If you received your ticket in another county, it is up to you to present your certificate of completion to the court.
Do you have a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)?
If you have a CDL, you may be eligible to complete the program; however, it will not prevent action against your CDL.
How do I show I have completed the Traffic Safety Program?
If you complete the program through Richland Community College, Richland will notify the court regarding your program completion and will present you with a certificate of completion for your personal records.
If you fail to complete the training or if you violate a traffic law during court supervision, a conviction will be entered against you and reported to the Secretary of State to be included on your driving record. Your program fee is forfeited.
How much time do I have?
- The ticket, this registration form, and monies must be delivered to the court not before 10 days and no later than three days prior to your court appearance date.
- You are required to complete a National Safety Council Defensive Driving class no later than 120 days from the date of the plea of guilty.
- The 180 days of Court Supervision begins on the day following the plea of guilty.
What if I do not live near this county?
If you are interested in taking the class at an alternate location, follow the registration instructions and mark “alternate location” under class options. You will receive further details and instructions by mail from Richland Community College within 30 days. You are responsible for locating an alternate training site and submitting a National Safety Council DDC-4 certificate of completion to the circuit court within 120 days of the plea of guilty.
- Sign the “Appearance, Plea of Guilty and Waiver” portion of your traffic ticket.
- Complete the Traffic Safety Registration Form
- The ticket, form, and monies must be delivered to the court in the county you received the ticket in not before ten (10) days and no later than three (3) days prior to your court appearance date. This information is located on the top left corner of the ticket.
- Delivery of the above may be made in person, online or by mail. Do not mail cash. If you paid cash bail to the officer only an additional $50 Traffic Safety Program fee must be paid.
- The circuit clerk will forward your registration form to the Richland Community College Traffic Safety Program office. You will be notified by mail of your class assignment one week prior to the class date.
- If you need to change your class assignment, you must notify the Richland Community College Traffic Safety Program Office by calling (217) 875-7211 ext. 6500 no later than twenty-four (24) hours prior to the class start time. You will receive a new assignment upon payment of a $15 rescheduling fee.
- If you fail to appear, or if you are late 15 minutes or more for an assigned class, you must pay $50 and request another class to complete the Traffic Safety Program.
For CLASS information, call the Richland Community College Traffic Safety Program Office at 217-875-7211, ext. 6500, or mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
For questions about your TICKET, call the Macon County Circuit Clerk Traffic Division at (217) 424-1451 or the DeWitt County Circuit Clerk Traffic Division at (217) 935-7750.
The Traffic Safety class fee is non-refundable.